The chocolate war

I finished reading the chocolate war by Robert Cormier yesterday. I heard about it before when I was younger but I never had the chance to read it.
Now that I read it; WOW!!! This book is definitely now on my forever book list.
It is haunting, disturbing, brutal, and very realistic!
The book is about a boy attending a religious private school who refuses to participate in a school tradition (selling chocolates) which leads to psychological mayhem. This book isn’t about the fundraiser. It is about the power of an individual, it’s about peer pressure, conformity, rules, evil, and good.
The book is depressing and doesn’t give you hope as if saying Evil will win but always try to do the good thing even if you know you’ll lose.
Jerry’s thoughts at the end are heartbreaking, “They tell you to do your thing but they don’t mean it. They don’t want you to do your thing, not unless it happens to be their thing, too. It’s a laugh, Goober, a fake. Don’t disturb the universe, Goober, no matter what the posters say.”

Leave a comment